Bar representing a menu icon
Magnifying glass representing a search icon
X letter representing a close icon

© Libre, Jessica Côté, 2016

Libre
Jessica Côté

Current project

Mentorship



Mentorat

LIBRE is a documentary shot in the Direct Cinema style, by a team of two, in a foreign language and a foreign land. It is an intimate documentary that follows the lives of two families in Romania’s little-known Motsi community over four months. In watching the families’ daily lives, we witness their struggle for survival and for freedom, as their way of life, rooted in tradition and self-sufficiency, is increasingly threatened by neoliberalism. With the fall of its totalitarian communist regime in 1989 and entry into the European Union in 2007, Romania has undergone a transition, in less than 20 years, from ration coupons to mass consumption.

LIBRE also aims to bridge Direct Cinema and experimental filmmaking. Through various means (symbolic imagery, email exchanges, fragments of scribbled notes, etc), a parallel thread punctuates and questions the documentary’s narrative, immersing it in the filmmaker’s own subjective and evolving experience as she lives among this community.

The mentor for this project is Bachir Bensaddek.

Jessica Côté

Jessica C. is an emerging artist working in the fields of cinema, photography (Main Blanche, Françoise Stéréo) and writing (Les écrits, Séquences, Bouts du monde, La Bonante). Having previously tended towards experimental video (Just Married, POP) and music videos (Jesuslesfilles, Red Mass), she has made a recent departure into intimate documentary filmmaking with LIBRE. Jessica holds a Bachelor’s degree in social psychology and a diploma in cinema; she hopes to combine these fields in future projects.

www.jessicac-portefolio.com

© Libre, Jessica Côté, 2016

Libre
Jessica Côté

Current project

Mentorship



© Libre, Jessica Côté, 2016

Libre
Jessica Côté

Current project

Mentorship



Mentorat

LIBRE is a documentary shot in the Direct Cinema style, by a team of two, in a foreign language and a foreign land. It is an intimate documentary that follows the lives of two families in Romania’s little-known Motsi community over four months. In watching the families’ daily lives, we witness their struggle for survival and for freedom, as their way of life, rooted in tradition and self-sufficiency, is increasingly threatened by neoliberalism. With the fall of its totalitarian communist regime in 1989 and entry into the European Union in 2007, Romania has undergone a transition, in less than 20 years, from ration coupons to mass consumption.

LIBRE also aims to bridge Direct Cinema and experimental filmmaking. Through various means (symbolic imagery, email exchanges, fragments of scribbled notes, etc), a parallel thread punctuates and questions the documentary’s narrative, immersing it in the filmmaker’s own subjective and evolving experience as she lives among this community.

The mentor for this project is Bachir Bensaddek.

Jessica Côté

Jessica C. is an emerging artist working in the fields of cinema, photography (Main Blanche, Françoise Stéréo) and writing (Les écrits, Séquences, Bouts du monde, La Bonante). Having previously tended towards experimental video (Just Married, POP) and music videos (Jesuslesfilles, Red Mass), she has made a recent departure into intimate documentary filmmaking with LIBRE. Jessica holds a Bachelor’s degree in social psychology and a diploma in cinema; she hopes to combine these fields in future projects.

www.jessicac-portefolio.com

Barres représentant une icône de menu
Loupe représentant une icône de recherche
Lettre x représentant une icône de fermeture

© Libre, Jessica Côté, 2016

Libre
Jessica Côté

Projet en cours

Mentorat



Mentorat

LIBRE est avant tout un documentaire filmé en cinéma direct, en duo, dans une langue inconnue, à l’étranger. C’est un documentaire intimiste qui relate les quatre mois passés avec deux familles d’une communauté ethnographique peu connue de la Roumanie, les Moți. C’est dans ce quotidien qu’on comprend leur lutte pour la survie et la liberté alors que leur mode de vie, basé sur l’autosubsistance et les traditions, est de plus en plus menacé par la tangente néolibérale du pays. En moins de vingt ans, la Roumanie est passée de tickets de rationnement pour la nourriture à une consommation de masse, marquée par la fin d’un régime communiste totalitaire en 1989 et son entrée dans l’Union européenne, en 2007.

LIBRE veut aussi créer un pont entre le cinéma direct et l’expérimental. Par divers moyens (images emblématiques, échanges de courriels, bribes du journal documentaire écrites sous l’impulsion, etc.), une trame parallèle ponctuera et questionnera la trame principale du documentaire. Elle sera une immersion de l’expérience subjective et évolutive vécue par la réalisatrice dans le quotidien de cette communauté.

Le mentor pour ce projet est Bachir Bensaddek.

Jessica Côté

Jessica C. est une artiste émergente dans le domaine du cinéma, de la photographie (Main Blanche, Françoise Stéréo) et de l’écriture (Les écrits, Séquences, Bouts du monde, La Bonante). Davantage portée vers la vidéo expérimentale (Just Married, POP) et le vidéoclip (Jesuslesfilles, Red Mass), elle s’est tournée vers le cinéma documentaire intimiste avec « Libre ». Bachelière en psychologie sociale et diplômée en cinéma, elle espère relier ces deux domaines dans ses réalisations futures.

www.jessicac-portefolio.com

© Libre, Jessica Côté, 2016

Libre
Jessica Côté

Projet en cours

Mentorat



© Libre, Jessica Côté, 2016

Libre
Jessica Côté

Projet en cours

Mentorat



Mentorat

LIBRE est avant tout un documentaire filmé en cinéma direct, en duo, dans une langue inconnue, à l’étranger. C’est un documentaire intimiste qui relate les quatre mois passés avec deux familles d’une communauté ethnographique peu connue de la Roumanie, les Moți. C’est dans ce quotidien qu’on comprend leur lutte pour la survie et la liberté alors que leur mode de vie, basé sur l’autosubsistance et les traditions, est de plus en plus menacé par la tangente néolibérale du pays. En moins de vingt ans, la Roumanie est passée de tickets de rationnement pour la nourriture à une consommation de masse, marquée par la fin d’un régime communiste totalitaire en 1989 et son entrée dans l’Union européenne, en 2007.

LIBRE veut aussi créer un pont entre le cinéma direct et l’expérimental. Par divers moyens (images emblématiques, échanges de courriels, bribes du journal documentaire écrites sous l’impulsion, etc.), une trame parallèle ponctuera et questionnera la trame principale du documentaire. Elle sera une immersion de l’expérience subjective et évolutive vécue par la réalisatrice dans le quotidien de cette communauté.

Le mentor pour ce projet est Bachir Bensaddek.

Jessica Côté

Jessica C. est une artiste émergente dans le domaine du cinéma, de la photographie (Main Blanche, Françoise Stéréo) et de l’écriture (Les écrits, Séquences, Bouts du monde, La Bonante). Davantage portée vers la vidéo expérimentale (Just Married, POP) et le vidéoclip (Jesuslesfilles, Red Mass), elle s’est tournée vers le cinéma documentaire intimiste avec « Libre ». Bachelière en psychologie sociale et diplômée en cinéma, elle espère relier ces deux domaines dans ses réalisations futures.

www.jessicac-portefolio.com